The  assembly results of five states (Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram) have been declared. BJP has to taste defeat in all 5 states. 

This defeat will have many implications as BJP does politics in name of ‘Hindi-Hindu-Hindustan’. And, it has lost its ground in the Hindi-belt. Loss in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh will be quite painful for BJP. 

BJP was in power for last 14 years in Madhya Pradesh. After Uma Bharti and Babulal Gaur, Shivraj Singh Chauhan became chief minister since 2008. Though there is not a big margin, Congress has gained enough seats to make government in the state.

Chhattisgarh results are a big jolt for BJP. Raman Singh led government has been in power in the state since 2003, i.e. for 15 years. Chhattisgarh was ‘carved’ on India’s map in the year 2000. 

Ajit Jogi became first CM of Chhatisgarh. At that time, Ajit Jogi was from Congress. Now, he has his own party. After 3 years the state again voted for new CM from BJP. Central government kept on changing, but Raman Singh remained CM of the state. 

However, in 2018 assembly elections BJP has lost its ground in the same state where it was in power for 15 consecutive years. Chhattisgarh has in total 27 districts and 90 assembly areas. BJP won only 15 seats out of 90. This number is 34 less than that of 2013 assembly elections. On the other hand, Congress won 68 seats which won 29 seats more than previous elections. 

There is a difference of 10% between both parties. BJP has got 33% votes while Congress got 43% votes. During last elections in 2013, BJP got 41% votes while Congress secured 40.3% votes. 

This means in comparision to last year, BJP lost vote percentage by 8% while Congress gained 2.7%.

Why BJP’s loss in Chhattisgarh in not normal?

There were 13 cabinet ministers from Chhattisgarh including Raman Singh. Two ministers out 13 didn’t fought elections this time. However, 11 ministers including CM fought elections and 8 out of them lost.  

These 8 ministers are; Amar Agarwal, Rajesh Munat, Prem Prakash Pandey, Kedarnath Kashyap, Ram Sewak Paikra, Bhaiyalal Rajwade, Dayaldas Baghel and Mahesh Gagda.

This is a big loss for BJP which was in power in state for quite long. Did BJP failed due to its inability to take up people’s issues. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here